Why I Write

I only ever write blogs when I feel inspired to write, but I have a personal journal in which I have written much more often.  Actually I have several journals, the first having been started when I was in 3rd grade.  Over the years the frequency of my writing has varied.  Normally it picks up when something bad or stressful is going on in my life, but there are a fair amount of entries about good events as well.  Sitting outside under the stars tonight I began to think about all the reasons that I write and my list is as follows:

I write to reflect.

I write to grow.

I write to immortalize my past and anticipate my future.

I write to heal.

I write to vent.

I write to say all those things that I am unable to vocalize.

I write to release.

I write to express.

I write to not just hear myself think, but to analyze the thoughts.

I write to tell the world who I am without uttering a sound.

I write to capture emotion.  Fear.  Hope.  Loss.  Excitement.  Depression.  Peace.

I write so I can read.  So I can learn.  So I can find the underlying mysteries within myself.

I write to define myself.

I write to keep a constant in my life.  A balance.

I write because it is me.

Leave a Reply

