My Informal Resolution

I made an informal New Year’s Resolution to blog more.  By informal I mean it is a resolution I’d like to set and keep, but one that I feel as if I won’t follow through on therefore by making it informal I won’t count it as a failure. 

Everything I’ve ever read about long term goals says that you have to break them down into smaller ones to make them easier to accomplish.  I am fantastic at doing this with running goals.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been trained in how to set those goals since 7th grade, so even though the distance or pace may change I know how to tweak the overall plan and goal. 

The problem with my goal to blog more, however, is that I can’t really break it down into smaller goals.  Sure I can say I’ll blog 2x a week.  I could even pencil it into my planner like an appointment to keep because I’ve read that as a way to stick to a goal.  Blogging is a creative outlet for me though, and you can’t schedule creativity.  I like to write when “the moment strikes” and not feel obligated to do it.  Anytime I feel as though I’m obligated to do something more from requirement than desire, I find that I then resent it and view it as a chore.  I don’t want writing to feel like a chore.  I know the more I write the more I enjoy it and the more likely it’ll be that I write again sooner, but I just can’t force myself to do it if I’m not in the mood. 

It’s put me in quite a predicament as one of my hopes in having a blog would be that it’d trigger me to expand my writing.  I used to write poetry when I was younger though I rarely feel inspired to do so anymore.  Oddly enough sometimes I wish I still had the challenge of writing 20 page college papers.  It provided me a goal and forced me to commit to it (I would never skip an assignment), but still allowed me some creativity and flexibility in how and when to write. 

I suppose for now I will just keep my informal resolution, not making any set steps in how to achieve it, but hoping that maybe creativity will spark more often and be the push I need to write more.

 

Leave a Reply

