Self Censorship

Censorship is often addressed in media outlets… books, TV shows, music.  Various viewpoints have to be considered as to not offend any particular groups or risk backlash.  How often though is the idea of self censorship looked at?

How often do we bite our tongues for risk of offending someone?  How often do we not express deeper emotion for fear of rejection?  How often do we keep our opinions to ourselves for worry of ridicule if we differ too far from the mainstream in our thinking?

Many times we want to speak up or speak out against injustices whether they are personal or much larger.  Too often our words are never spoken though.  I know I am extremely guilty of this.  My sensitiveness and lack of confidence in confrontation makes me often keep my thoughts to myself.  The few times I have attempted to speak up has normally resulted in my words falling on deaf ears, a mere response to humor me, or an unintended escalation that left me upset and wishing I had kept quiet. 

There are many people who are stronger than me in this area.  Those who can stand up for what they believe in regardless if they’re deemed wrong.  How often does our society strongly judge these type of people though? We call them “loud mouths”, “troublemakers”, “crazies” or “conspirators.”  Anyone who speaks against the norm we tend to disassociate with even if we may agree with what is being said.  We think of ourselves, our jobs, our families.  We can’t risk losing anything that we’ve worked so hard to gain.  I fall into the category myself.  I do wish I had the confidence, the boldness and willingness to take a risk that some others do though.  To those people I give props for being able to overcome their self censorship.

3 thoughts on “Self Censorship

  1. Lindsey says:

    I fall into e same category! I often find myself thinking that I don’t want to get into it with anyone, so I just listen to what they have to say rather than cause a problem.

    • It can be very frustrating both on a professional and a personal level. I have often wanted to speak up to management in jobs I’ve had but as I stated above, it tended to fall on deaf ears or I was risking a bigger confrontation that wasn’t worth losing my job over. On a personal level, sometimes I want to just have an intellectual convo with someone but instead of viewing it that way, they take offense if you have an opinion that differs from theirs or they think you’re insulting them.

  2. Lori Schmitt says:

    I think speaking your mind comes with age. You will gain confidence in yourself, and your ideals. I know that I say things now that I would have never, ever thought of saying in my twenties. I think I got fed up with people telling me what I should think. One day I opened my mouth, and I told this asshole just what I thought of their idiotic ramblings. Since them it has been like mouth vomit.

Leave a Reply

