News Highlights

There’s been quite a lot in the news lately that I’ve been reading about and so I figured I’d post my opinions/responses to some of them.

1 – Miley’s VMA Performance.  I’m going to start off by saying that I have never liked Miley Cyrus even in her Hannah Montana days.  I just don’t think she can sing.  She has maybe 2 songs that I can tolerate at best.  Her voice just grates on me and never seems quite in tune.  I chose not to watch the VMAs, forgot they were on actually, because I just really never find awards shows to be that interesting.  I need not watch it anyway as Mon. morning Facebook was flooded with pictures, videos and plenty of commentary to fill me in within a matter of minutes.  Of course I subjected myself to watching a clip of what was supposed to be considered “performing” by Miley and quickly wished I hadn’t.  I get it, she wants to break her Disney mold, show the world that she’s grown up and can be “sexy” too but seriously, find a hotter, classier way to do it.  The only word that can accurately describe her antics on stage is raunchy.  I have seen plenty of performances by Britney, Beyonce, Madonna, etc. that pushed the limits of what’s acceptable on TV and was never disgusted.  If you’re hot and you can tastefully display it in creative ways then I say go for it.  Miley, however, is far from what I’d deem hot and if she has retained many fans after that little demonstration of hers I’d be surprised.

2 – Syria.  This is very much a “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” situation for both the US and President Obama.  If we go to war with Syria we risk another Middle Eastern conflict that could drag out for years, cost taxpayers even more, dig a bigger debt hole, risk military lives, and ultimately may not resolve the issue anyway.  If we don’t react and instead make Syria fend for itself we risk looking heartless as well as cowardly for not following through on the promise to do something if “the red line was crossed.”  I personally envy Canada in these situations.  They never seem to be expected to do anything other than just go about their business.  While the loss of lives in an especially gruesome manner is a tragic thing, the US has enough of its own issues to resolve.  I vote leave Syria alone.

3 – 14 year old raped and later commits suicide.  When I read this story online and later heard it on the radio I was just stunned.  What judge in their right mind thinks they can honestly say that a girl does not seem to be her “chronological age”.  He might as well have just come out and said that the teacher had the right to have sex with her.  No, it wasn’t forcible rape, but it’s clearly stated in the law that a 14 year old cannot consent to sex.  How that teacher got away with only 30 days in jail is beyond me.  The justice system really never seems to function correctly, and I can only hope that I’m never put in a situation where I have to rely on it.

 

Leave a Reply

