Breaking My Vacation Tradition

This is the first summer since I was born that I have not gone on vacation to Ocean City MD.  I’ve always been a traditionalist, but I don’t think I realized how much of one I was til this week began and my parents, sister and her boyfriend headed south.  Two years ago my boyfriend Jason and I went there without my family as it was the only time we could manage a vacation together, and even though it was odd not going with them then in Aug., I still went and therefore kept with tradition. 

The reason I’m not going this year is twofold.  One, my boyfriend and I are taking our first cruise in Nov. thus that is our main vacation.  Two, even though I have vacation time that I could’ve went with my family this week, I had gotten promoted to a new position at work in the spring and am still in training and did not want to miss any of it.

I think part of my sensitivity is coming from the fact that I haven’t seen my family since mid-July and won’t be seeing them again til the end of the month.  Since moving almost 3 hours away from them in 2011, I have never gone more than probably 4 weeks at most without seeing them.  I don’t understand how people can move states away from their family and not get homesick at times.  I guess if you don’t like your family then it’s a blessing, but I’ve actually found my relationships with my family to have improved with creating some distance because it makes me more excited to see them when I’m able to.

Jason is a big fan of seeing new places and doing new things, and can’t understand why my family would want to go on vacation to the same place year after year.  Part of the reason is financial; we never had money to go to lavish places (though we did manage to go to Disney World when I was in 5th grade), and the other part is just that we love Ocean City.  I know a lot of people prefer places like the Outer Banks where you can rent a house and have a section of the beach almost entirely to yourselves.  Growing up in a fairly rural area though, the hustle and bustle of Ocean City as a town coupled with its boardwalk was always more appealing to me.  There was more to see and do that way. 

I am hoping next year that even if I don’t end up vacationing in Ocean City that I will be able to have my family along on at least one vacation.  Jason and I have discussed various places to visit already… Las Vegas, Boston, Canada, but I figure we should wait til we get this year’s vacation finished before we plan the next one. 

I am very much looking forward to the cruise; having all you can eat food and lots of entertainment is appealing plus seeing Caribbean waters when I’ve only ever seen gray waters is going to be exciting.  While my tradition of going to Ocean City may have been broken, I refuse to break the tradition to going to a beach every year.  There is just something mesmerizing about the ocean that I feel that I need to see and touch even if it’s only once a year.  In the meantime I will simply get jealous over everyone’s summer beach photos on Facebook while counting down the days til I get to enjoy the sand and sun myself!

Leave a Reply

