While we have the gift of life, it seems to me the only tragedy is to allow part of us to die – whether it is our spirit, our creativity or our glorious uniqueness.

Gilda Radner

When I think back to my childhood days it often becomes clear to me that I had an element of creativity that seemed to diminish as I grew older.  I spent hours outside creating games from my imagination and taking the most simple items (my red wagon for example) and turning them into something more (a covered wagon upon which to “travel the Oregon trail”).  Even as I entered middle school my creativity remained and while no longer used in acts of play, it manifested itself in various forms of writing.  Poetry, stories, essays and journal entries all allowed me to enhance my vocabulary while providing an outlet for my thoughts and ideas.  As I progressed through high school and college my writing more often than not was directed towards dictated subjects thanks to the education system.  A few random journal entries became the only writings which were truly a reflection of my thoughts.  It is now time to regain what I have lost; the ability to freely write whatever may come to mind and reestablish my ability to creatively word my thoughts.  I plan to have this blog be a combination of random thoughts, commentary on current events, a review here or there and a little bit of this and a little bit of that just for fun.

While we have t…

Leave a Reply

